Home | Strategic Partnerships and Government Relations | South Metro-Salem STEM Partnership

South Metro-Salem STEM Partnership

SMS STEM logo

STEM = Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

Education providers and industry leaders in the South Metro-Salem area have formed a partnership to increase student access and success in STEM programs of study and in STEM careers.


medical imaging studentThe South Metro-Salem STEM Partnership (SMSP) is a collaboration of school districts, community colleges, universities, out-of-school programs and business and community partners that is focused on increasing student access and success in STEM fields. In March 2014, the SMSP was named an Oregon Regional STEM Hub.

The South Metro-Salem STEM Partners have developed a shared vision for STEM education in the region that will increase the excitement and engagement of students in STEM courses and experiential learning that lead to increased achievement by providing all students with STEM experiences and courses at all grade levels.

The Partners are currently engaged in many effective methods for achieving the goals, and seek to increase our effectiveness through more systemic approaches, shared learning and resources, a focus on common outcomes and measures, and evaluation of practices.

The Partners have agreed to focus on three strategies:

  1. Forming a learning community to share effective STEM teaching and project-based learning practices and engage in shared professional development, as well as to develop leadership capacity in our teachers to implement districtwide STEM priorities;
  2. Organizing and facilitating a STEM Network of mentors, programs and events that inspire students and sponsors to utilize the state's rich industry and community resources (STEMOregon.org);
  3. Increase early access for students to college courses and credits, especially in STEM fields.

The South Metro-Salem STEM Partnership Team:

Melissa Dubois, Ph.D., SMS STEM Hub Director, melissa.dubois@oit.edu
Jill Hubbard, STEMNet Director, jill.hubbard@oit.edu
Jon Yoder, STEM Leadership Team Coordinator, yoder_jon@salkeiz.k12.or.us
Carleen Drago Starr and Larry Cheyne, Accelerated Learning Team Co-Chairs, carleen.drago@oit.edu, larry.cheyne@clackamas.edu
Lita Colligan and Craig Hudson, Executive Advisory Board Co-Chairs, lita.colligan@oit.edu, craig.hudson@garmin.com

For more information or to join the collaborative, contact Melissa Dubois, SMS STEM Hub Director, melissa.dubois@oit.edu.